Championship Weekend Rewind: Relive the Section 1 Football Finals

Scroll down to content

New Rochelle, Rye, Ardsley, Valhalla and Tuckahoe took home Section 1 football championships this past weekend at Mahopac High School. All the action was captured live and ondemand on

Before we look back on a thrilling five games, here’s the schedule for this weekend’s NYSPHSAA Regional Semifinals as the five Section 1 champs are two wins away from reaching the Carrier Dome in Syracuse.

NYSPHSAA Regional Semifinals
Friday, November 15
at Mahopac High School
Class D:
Tuckahoe vs. Waterville, 4:30 p.m.
Class A: Rye vs. Auburn, 7:30 p.m.
at Dietz Stadium, Kingston
Class C:
Valhalla vs. Chester, 7 p.m.

Saturday, November 16
at Mahopac High School
Class B:
Ardsley vs. Port Jervis, 1 p.m.
Class AA: New Rochelle vs Utica Proctor, 5 p.m.

Section 1 Football Championship Rewind

Class D: Tuckahoe upends Haldane to reclaim Section 1 crown

Full game replay: Tuckahoe 28, Haldane 6 (Click to watch)

Recap: Justin Lee tossed a 41-yard touchdown to Stephen Annunziata, a 29-yard score to Jonathan Berger and also ran for a score in the win. Michael Meyers had over 150 yards rushing and Draz Prorokovic returned an interception for a touchdown.

Game Awards
MVP: Justin Lee, Tuckahoe
Most Outstanding Lineman: Christian Pezzullo, Haldane
Most Outstanding Back: Michael Meyers, Tuckahoe


Class A: Rye avenges sectional final defeat, coasts by Yorktown

Full game replay: Rye 41, Yorktown 7 (click to watch)

Game recap: Matthew Tepedino caught three touchdowns and returned an interception for a score. Declan Lavelle passed for 188 yards and four touchdowns, and Quinn Kelly and Caden Whaling each score for Rye.

Game Awards
Matthew Tepedino, Rye
Most Outstanding Back: Declan Lavelle, Rye
Most Outstanding Lineman: Blake Norton, Rye


Class C: Valhalla dethrones Dobbs Ferry to capture first title since 1998

Full game replay: Valhalla 21, Dobbs Ferry 7 (click to watch)

Game recap: Michael Dawson threw a touchdown, ran for a score and Joe Nolan added a TD as the Vikings won their first Section 1 title since 1998. Joe McGovern caught a touchdown pass from Harry Dann for the Eagles.

Game Awards
Michael Dawson, Valhalla
Most Outstanding Back: Mohari Davis, Valhalla
Most Outstanding Lineman: Tommy Palicz, Dobbs Ferry


Class B: Ardsley repeats as unbeaten section champs

Full game replay: Ardsley 55, Byram Hills 21 (click to watch)

Game recap: Jalen Osbourne was electrifying, scoring six touchdowns and rushing for 303 yards in the win. Griffin Buckland returned an interception for a touchdown and Luke Mantini tossed a touchdown to Ryan Watson. Nic Picca ran for two scores for Byram Hills.

Game awards
Jalen Osbourne, Ardsley
Most Outstanding Back: Griffin Buckland, Ardsley
Most Outstanding Lineman: George Lebberes, Ardsley


Class AA: New Ro reigns in Section 1, claims fifth title in a row

Game replay: New Rochelle 42, Carmel 14 (click to watch)

Game recap: Jessie Parson ran for a school-record 327 yards . and five touchdowns on 17 carries as New Rochelle twice came back from deficits. Andrew Nunez threw two touchdowns for Carmel.

Jessie Parson, New Rochelle


One Reply to “Championship Weekend Rewind: Relive the Section 1 Football Finals”

  1. Best of luck to all section one football 🏈 teams this weekend ( all new Rochelle student should stay in school today and support coach D tommorow at the football game 👏👍🏈( remember Education is VERY important and missing school is NoT the way to support coach D.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: